A long winter’s nap?

No, I haven’t really been hibernating for the last two months, but I also don’t have a better reason for my blogging silence. I suppose this is what I was afraid of when I first started this little blog last summer, but I’m not going to beat myself up about it. Sometimes life gets in the way.

I’ve mentioned my love-hate relationship with writing, and I’m pretty sure that’s at the root of this hiatus. Writing really is the best way for me to process what I’m thinking, but something about the public nature of blogging tends to amplify my perfectionist tendencies. I seem to have some compulsion to keep thinking about, researching, and editing even the briefest of posts. It’s a little crazy, but at least admitting it helps me understand why it’s so easy for me to put writing on the back burner. Time keeps flying faster, and there aren’t enough hours in the day for all that I want to do, see, and read – let alone reflecting and writing about those things. Oh, and I’d also like to allow myself some semblance of a social life. Recently, balancing all of my competing priorities has been pretty stressful, and I think I’ve fallen victim to analysis paralysis, despite my otherwise respectable time management and coping skills. Now, it’s time to put one foot in front of the other and get moving again.

I do have a few ideas for breathing life back into this space, and I’m hoping that writing them down here will help me stay accountable.

  • finish my remaining things for CPD23 – no time like the present, as the second round is about to launch!
  • comment on recent reading about personality types and introversion
  • update on professional development projects (Code Year, etc.)
  • reflect on upcoming trainings/conferences I’m attending

If I still have any readers out there, thanks for sticking with me. If not, oh well, I’m mostly doing this for myself anyway. :)

Leave a Reply

