Library Day in the Life: Round 8, Day 1

Super Librarian? It was a little tricky to get a big monument, big Roman numerals, and my big head in the same picture, but you get the idea.

It’s time for another round of Library Day in the Life!

I enjoyed participating for the first time this summer, so I thought I’d give it another shot. Basically, the idea is that librarians from all over the world are using social media to provide a glimpse into what the profession is really like. The wide variety of jobs and workplaces is fascinating, so I’d encourage you to explore. Pick someone whose job or library sounds interesting, or use the #libday8 visualizer to see what librarians near you are doing this week.

As I’ve mentioned before, I really only spend about 40% of my full-time job working in a library. The rest of the time, I’m hopefully fine-tuning transferrable skills in databases, program management, and customer service.

I cannot physically be in the library on Mondays right now, since I have to share the only workspace with our intern. I don’t really mind, though, because she’s helping us do a serious weeding and shifting project! I’m looking forward to the big purge, and finally getting everything where it belongs after the summer’s renovation.

My morning was a little rocky, as they often are when returning from a three-day weekend. I was mostly dealing with e-mails from Friday and sorting out some last minute details so that we could open spring training registration today. I tracked down one article for a colleague using INSPIRE, but struck out on finding free full-text for the other one she wanted. I passed the request off to our library director who pulls the strings for any searches that may require purchasing an article. The same colleague who’d requested the articles has also asked for a couple of bibliographies to share in upcoming meetings and communication about our mentoring initiative. There were already existing bibliographies on the topics, but they were definitely in need of an update. I fixed one on mentoring last week, so today’s focus was college/career/life skills. It’s fun for me to see what items in our collection are applicable, and I really hope people find the lists useful. Our website stats say they are downloaded quite a bit, but I’m not sure how that translates into checkouts.

I spent most of the afternoon reading grant proposals. Every month, I have the pleasure of giving youth workers money for professional development. It’s interesting to see what types of conferences people plan to attend. Every once in awhile, a librarian applies, and I have to try not to be biased! But seriously, even my volunteer reviewers say that librarians write some of the best proposals. :)

The last thing I did before leaving the office was change the status on a few items to “held,” so I can mail them tomorrow. I had brought them up to my office on Thursday, considering I’d be out on Friday and not able to access the library today. I didn’t want to delay those requests any longer than necessary. I also noticed a large stack of returned mail, so I guess I know what I’m doing in the morning!

After work, I left the car at the office and took a walk downtown to check the Super Bowl festivities. I’m not particularly fond of football or big crowds, but it’s cool to see how the city has managed to pull this off. Playing tourist was a great way to unwind and shake off this moody Monday.

How was your day?

3 Comments on “Library Day in the Life: Round 8, Day 1”

  1. Great post! I love Library Day in the Life, I only have experience in one sector so it’s a great way to explore other library roles. Look forward to the rest of your week!

  2. Thanks for the Visualiser link – I’ve just gone to check it out!!

  3. […] Telegraph; Save Our Libraries campaign one year on from the Guardian Books blog (via @SimonXIX); Library Day in the Life day one by Nicole Brock at Odd Librarian Out; Library Day in the Life part 2 by Tina Reynolds. Like […]


Leave a Reply

