Integrating things slowly but surely

As you’ve probably noticed, I’ve been taking the remaining “Things” out of order as they inspire me. I’m still determined to finish all 23, but I doubt I will achieve my goal of completing the program before the new year. I just survived the busiest time of the year in my job, and my free time has been occupied by volunteer commitments and holiday preparations. There simply hasn’t been much time for reflection and writing. While I’m somewhat disappointed by how far behind I’ve gotten with CPD23, I suspect I’ll be capable of a more thoughtful discussion about my remaining things (advocacy and job searching) after the holidays.

For now, I’ll briefly tackle Thing 19 and reflect a little on what I’ve already learned from the program.

Things I was already doing and/or using:

  • Reading blogs, mostly via RSS feeds and Google reader – though I did clean up my subscriptions thanks to CPD23
  • Some personal branding (consistent username, real name, profersonal approach)
  • Twitter – though I have been a little more active thanks to improved use of lists
  • Google Calendar – It’s even more helpful now that I can see it on my smart phone!
  • Evernote
  • Volunteering
  • Attending conferences
  • Dropbox

Things I probably wouldn’t have done without CPD23:

  • Started blogging – I had hoped to make this blog about  more than CPD23, but so far have only put up a few non-related posts. :(
  • Written about my library roots/routes – I struggled the most to find the words for these posts, but I think they have been the most valuable part of my CPD23 experience.

Things I’m happy to know about but probably won’t use:

  • Jing
  • Prezi
  • Citation software
  • Pushnote

Things I still plan to work on:

  • Finding a better avatar and visual identity for my personal brand
  • Communicating my skills/interests/achievements, then updating my LinkedIN profile (hoping Thing 21 will help with this one)
  • Commenting on blog posts – I’ve been doing better, but definitely haven’t met my one-comment-a-day goal.
  • Incorporating wikis (or some sort of improved knowledge sharing) in the workplace
  • Networking with other librarians, possibly finding a mentor

Seems I’ve got plenty to keep me busy in January! Despite my slow progress of late, I really have been enjoying this opportunity to try new things and reflect on old ones. Thanks for sticking with me.

I hope everyone has a restful holiday. See you next year!

3 Comments on “Integrating things slowly but surely”

  1. Erin says:

    I too am slowly finishing up CPD23… in fact, I may just resign at thing 16. Oh well!

    I’m actually commenting on your “Things glad to know about but probably won’t use” list. JING IS AWESOME. I seriously use it daily for screen shots… for handouts, student announcements, emails, screen casts of interesting things to send through email or instant messaging… If you ever use screen shots at all, I really think you will end up finding Jing to be extremely valuable.

    I’m in agreement with the rest of your list though – Prezi is fun and I like it but it takes more time than I have, citation tools… well, I still like old-fashioned note cards betters, and pushnote was just dumb :)

  2. Nicole Brock says:

    I totally hear you about Jing, but we can’t download any software at work without approval. I seem to get by well enough with the alternatives that I haven’t pushed for it.

  3. Erin says:

    Ahhhh… I see. I have that problem too, but Jing is one I requested be installed. It just saves so much time over the alternative, which on our computers (still running Windows XP) meant print-screens and dealing with Microsoft Paint and ugh, so many steps :)

    Also, i found that by requesting access to items regularly, our IT department eventually got tired of dealing with me and increased my permissions so I can download on my own!


Leave a Reply

