Putting off Prezi, among other things…

I really can’t believe it’s been almost a month since my last post! I hate to think about how far behind I am on CPD23, which is probably part of the reason I’ve still got so many things left to do…

My new goal is to finish the program by the end of the year. That gives me eight weeks to do seven things. While that will be a much faster pace than I’ve attempted over much of the last few months, I think the deadline will be a big help. And if I still have any readers left, please help hold me accountable!

Now, onto Thing 17. Believe it or not, I created my first Prezi about a month ago. I don’t have a good reason for why it has taken me so long to write about the experience, other than that I really have no use for Prezi in my life. I was curious about the tool, but currently have no need to prepare any presentations.

I decided to explore Prezi in a somewhat formal way, by participating in one of their “Getting Started” webinars over my lunch hour. While I feel like I gained a sufficient grasp of the basics, my efforts at playing along and putting up random text and images to keep up with the presenter resulted in a rather horrendous first Prezi. This thing seems simple enough at first, but I really think you need to have a certain type of brain (or hours and hours of free time) to create a decent Prezi. The zooming in and out and bouncing around was a little too much for me to handle without a goal in mind. I wanted to come back to this and try making a Prezi around a real topic, but I’ve been putting it off so long I have decided to let myself off the hook for now.

If I ever find myself in need of a presentation, I may consider further experimentation with Prezi. But honestly, I think I would be frustrated by the trial and error it would take to set up a presentation I could be proud of.

I don’t have much to say about Slideshare, either, considering I haven’t done a presentation since grad school. I’m not sure if any of those would make sense outside the context of a class project, but I am tempted to go back through my files and see if any could enhance my online portfolio somehow. In the meantime, it’s nice to have Slideshare available for tracking down other people’s presentations. This has helped me avoid frantic note-taking and given me a taste of conference sessions I was not able to attend. Also, while I agree that Slideshare can provide some inspiration for creating one’s own presentations, there’s a pretty significant drawback. Typically, the best presentations are the ones with the least text and the most captivating images. Coupled with dynamic speaker, these slides would be awesome. But on their own, they mean almost nothing. And that’s frustrating.

I wish I had something more profound to offer about presentation tools, but this is about as much as I care to think about them right now. It’s time to cross this one off the list and move onto bigger and better things!

6 Comments on “Putting off Prezi, among other things…”

  1. Don’t worry about being behind on CPD23, there are many of us in the same boat! We’ll all get there in the end.

    I don’t have much use for presentations either, so I’m impressed you took the Getting Started webinar route. And I hadn’t thought of using SlideShare for inspiration, that might have helped me with a talk I gave a few weeks ago!

    • Nicole Brock says:

      Thanks for commenting, Katy. I’m glad I’m not alone!

      I thought maybe the structure of the webinar would help me focus on this thing and get it done, but clearly that did not work quite as planned. Oh, well, I’m getting back on track now!

  2. LibGirl09 says:

    What a relief to see I’m not the only one behind! :) I plan on catching up during my winter break between semesters.

    I agree with you that Prezi must require a certain type of brain to operate. I tried it out several months ago to see if it would be a good option for a class presentation. But I gave up. I did not have the hours and hours of spare time to figure it out.

    I’ll definitely have to go back and try again soon (and check out slideshare). I still have several grad courses left, so I’m sure I will plenty of opportunities to put these tools to use if I can master them.

  3. I felt very similar about Prezi. Without a situation where I can really use it, I found it hard to really ‘commit’ to it.

  4. Alan Green says:

    Prezi is hard ro get the hang of. I’m hoping it will get much easier and much quicker with practice. If it doesn’t then it won’t catch on.

    I know what you mean about finding it hard to write about tools that you don’t have an actual use for. Stick with it though. You might find a use for them in the future (although no doubt there will be newer tools by then).

  5. I’m still doing CPD23 too – and you are way ahead of me! I’m looking forward to trying out Prezi now after reading about how tricky it is. Will I be able to master it??


Leave a Reply

