Who am I and why am I blogging here?

A little over three years ago, I decided to make the jump from social work school to library school. I was confident in this decision for a number of reasons, not least of which were the dozens of librarian bloggers I had begun to follow. I continue to be impressed by the diverse, intelligent, talented, and fun group of people I can now call my colleagues.

Although I’ve been tempted to start my own blog before, I’ve always been bit hesitant for a handful of reasons.

  1. It seems that librarians’ passion for finding and organizing information extends to the prolific creation of information as well, particularly as it relates to our own profession. It’s already tough to keep up with all the great ideas and conversations. Does the world really need one more librarian blogger?
  2. I have yet to figure out my niche in the library world, hence the “odd librarian out” feeling. I don’t see myself fitting neatly into the typical public/academic/school librarian categories, yet the special library I work in doesn’t really resemble any other special libraries either. What would I write about?
  3. It’s difficult to fight an introverted temperament. I’ve always been a fairly private person, so putting my thoughts in a public venue doesn’t exactly feel natural. Can I really step out of my comfort zone?

Despite these lingering questions, I feel like now’s as good a time as any to join the conversation. Why now?

  1. The more blogger librarians, the merrier. The proliferation of library blogs isn’t exactly stopping anyone else from contributing their ideas. There’s really no escaping information overload, so I might as well participate!
  2. Perhaps my niche for now can be my nichlessness. My recent experience at the 2011 SLA Conference reminded me that while we were all trained in the same core skill sets, they can be applied in a multitude of interesting ways. I will likely write about my journey to find which applications work best for me.
  3. There’s no sense in fighting temperament, but I can channel my need for reflective time into something useful. I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with writing, but will use this outlet to focus on the best part, which is how it helps me organize my thoughts.

I see this blog as an extension of my continuing professional development.  I will attempt to synthesize what I learn and experience, with hope that doing so will help me figure out where my librarian journey leads…

10 Comments on “Who am I and why am I blogging here?”

  1. Great start! You have a terrific writing voice and I like the way you work through things.

  2. Nicole Brock says:

    Thanks, Joy! I think it’s going to be fun to find my voice again…

  3. Erin says:

    I enjoyed reading your post, and feel quite sympathetic to your (neatly organized) reasons for being hesitant about starting a blog.

    • Nicole Brock says:

      Thanks, Erin! I’m glad what I wrote has had a reassuring effect on someone other than just me. I’m impressed with the supportive nature of cpd23 participants so far. This will be fun!

  4. Lisa says:

    Hi – i echo your thoughts over wondering what to write about – I’ve often wondered who’d want to read my ramblings! Like you am using this as a CPD opportunity, but i’m hoping along the way i might find something ‘interesting’ to blog about. good luck with the course

  5. Alan Green says:

    Very thoughtful start. I’m glad you overcame your doubts about blogging. Good luck with the things.

  6. I really enjoyed this post! I’ve just started out on cpd23 and am new to blogging and I could really identify with a lot of what you wrote here. I hope the programme goes well for you.

  7. […] nichelessness. As I mentioned in my first post, I’m still not sure what type of librarian I’m going to be. A part of me thinks it […]

  8. […] the first round of CPD23. On the other, I still struggle with the questions I talked about in that first post, and I wish that I could come up with a more exciting niche or purpose for this […]


Leave a Reply

